14 Days of Love – Day 11 Valentine Cards

What a day.   And not in a good way.

First,  I wake up to an over dramatic  starving 4yr old having a tantrum on my bedroom floor.  Two seconds later, a screaming toddler furious that he’s getting his diaper changed.  God forbid my husband changes the kid’s diaper first thing in the morning.  Seriously babe, what were you thinking?  All the while grumpy hubby trying his best NOT to be grumpy (which never works).  I guess that’s what happens when you have a whiny 4yr old AND a squirmy, screaming toddler who won’t sit still while you change his diaper so you get poop all over your hands all before 6:30 on a Saturday – kind of morning.  I’d be grumpy too.

Who am I kidding.  At this point, approximately  2 minutes after opening my eyes, I was grumpy too.

I thought for sure our morning would get better after all of our tummies were full. Buuut no.  Still whiny, still grumpy.

We couldn’t go outside and play (it’s been raining all day) so I was trying desperately to figure out a way to brighten our moods.  Then I remembered I had completely forgot about our Valentine Card craft for today. Gasp! I know.   I already had planned to make these for all the grandparents and aunts and uncles.

I thought it would be the perfect thing to get the boys out of their slump.  Who doesn’t like to paint and get all messy?

Well, apparently Andrew (1.5yrs) doesn’t.   Hubby held him and I started painting his feet.  He started screaming.  And squirming.  And screaming some more.   At the time I couldn’t bare to take pictures of the torture I was putting him through but looking back now, I SO wish I had taken the pictures.  Needless to say, footprints did NOT get painted.  I wasn’t about to try the hand prints.

Okay so Andrew wasn’t having it, but maybe Braden would have more fun.  Not so much.  All he wanted to do was everything I was telling him not to.  “Braden, stop flinging the paint brush.”  “Braden, don’t touch the wet paint.”  “Braden, wait for mommy to help you.”  Forget it.  I give up.

So there went that brilliant idea.  After my already exhausting day, I had no energy left to try anything else.  Cars 2 anyone?

Sorry, no cute-sy Valentine’s this year folks.  At least not today anyway.

Just so happens tonight is my night out with the girls.  Thank Goodness.  There is a glass of wine with my name on it!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

