14 Days of LOVE – Day 7 Rice Kiss-py Treats

I made these adorable little goodies last year and my hubby loved finding them in his lunch. Buuuut, as usual, I wanted to step it up a notch this year. I was actually looking for a recipe when stumbled upon these from Ali at Gimme Some Oven! Perfect!

Cake Batter Rice Crispy Treats! I just HAD to try them.

Since I am obviously all about Valentine’s Day right now, I had to put my own little Valentine twist on them. I made mine with the pink marshmallows and valentine sprinkles.

Cake Batter Rice Krispies Recipe
(orignal recipe From How Sweet Eats)

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 (10 oz.) bag of mini-marshmallows (I used a 10 oz bag of large pink marshmallows)
  • 1/4 cup yellow cake mix (the dry cake mix, not prepared into a batter!)
  • 6 cups crispy rice cereal
  • 1 (1.75 oz.) container of sprinkles

Method:

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat and add marshmallows. Stir until they begin to melt, adding in (dry) cake mix one spoonful at a time so its combined. Stir in cereal so it is completely coated with marshmallow mixture. Sprinkle in half of the sprinkles and mix. Press into a baking dish (any size will do) and top with remaining sprinkles. Let sit for about 30 minutes before cutting. I find spraying a knife with nonstick spray helps to cut them.

Ali’s Tip: I actually increased the cake batter to 1/3 cup for my recipe to give it a little extra cake batter kick (the 1/4 cup seemed just a little too subtle to me), but add as much in as you like!

***Note: Many readers have asked what to do with the remaining cake mix. If you would like to use it to whip up a batch of cake mix cookies, just measure out 6 oz. of the remaining cake mix, and combine it with 1/4 cup vegetable or canola oil, and 1 egg. Stir until mixed. Then form into cookie dough balls, and bake in a 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes.***

Darci’s Tip: Use Ali’s tip! And make the cake batter cookies. They are just as heavenly 🙂

To make these into a kiss shape. Instead of pressing into a baking dish, scoop a spoonful into a small funnel sprayed with cooking spray. Press down until funnel is full

(Sorry about the blurry pic. It’s hard to press down rice crispy’s with one hand while holding a funnel AND a camera with the other!)

Cut out 6×6 squares of foil. Place rice crispy in center and wrap with foil. To make it really authentic, you can insert an adorable little love note to peek out of the top. (I just printed mine on regular ol’ paper and cut them out with scissors).

Personally I’m not a big fan of regular Rice Crispy treats but these new Rice Kiss-py treats with all of their cake batter goodness are my new favorite!!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. lindsey

     /  February 7, 2012

    Cant wait to try this

    Reply

Leave a Reply

