Anthropologie inspired Ruffle Lamp

I saw this lamp on pinterest and fell in love.

And after reading this fabulous tutorial  from mama says sew, I said “I can do that!”

So I did.

Isn’t it gorgeous!  I just love how it turned out.

I did a few things differently so here’s my breakdown.

Materials

  • lamp base
  • drum shade
  • 1.5 – 2 yards burlap
  • iron
  • glue gun

I found my original lamp bases (I made two of these lamps) at a garage sale.  Aren’t they ugly  pretty!

I primed them first


and then used Krylon Satin Oil Rubbed Bronze (Michaels).

Oh what a can of spray pain can do!  They already look 100 x’s better, dontcha think?

Now for the shades.  In my quest to find some cheap re-purposeful drum shades, I scoured our little town from one side to the other.  And by scoured I mean I went to approximately 400 garage sales, thrift stores, Goodwills and Salvation Armys over a period of 3 days,  just to come back empty handed (ugh).  So instead of waiting patiently and adding this project to my “to be finished later” pile, I went to target.  In the tutorial from mama says sew, she covers her lamp shade with burlap, which I was planning to do.  However when I arrived at the happiest place on earth, low and behold, they had a 2 burlap wrapped drum shades just waiting for me!  Hey, I was either going to spend $13 on a plain white drum shade and cover it myself or pay $13 on a drum shade already wrapped in burlap.   Nuff said.

Now the fun part begins.  After you wrap your shade (or buy one) you will need to cup your remaining burlap into strips.  I used about 60 strips.  Cut them double the width you want them to stick out on your shade and 1.5 x’s the height of your shade.   I cut mine about 3 inches wide and about 15 inches long (my shade was 10″ in height)

After you have all of your strips cut, fold them in half and iron them.

I wanted to add a little more ruffle to my shade.  To do this, unfold your strip and find the center thread.  Pull it so the strip cinches.  And please do not make fun of my thumbs! 😛

Tie the thread in a knot at the base of your cinch.  This will help to keep the cinch in place as you glue.

Should look like this when you’re finished

Now it’s time to glue.  Take your ruffle strip and place a strip of hot glue  along the folded edge, about half way down.   Quickly place it on your shade.  Glue the remaining side down as you go.

I made it so the edges of my strips curled down at the top and bottom of the shade.  To me, it looks a little more “finished” this way but you can do it however you choose.

I spaced my strips about 4 inches apart all the way around and then filled in the spaces as I went.

Almost finished

I wanted my shade to look really full,so I filled it in until I couldn’t fit another strip anywhere!

2 hours and 865 glue gun burns later, Ta-Da!

*Side note – no you’re eyes are not deceiving you, that IS a completely different lamp base.  After putting the shade on the other lamp base, I thought it might look a little too busy.  SO I went to my “to be finished later” pile (remember that?) and found this lamp base which just happen to be the perfect size and shape I was looking for.  I primed it and spray painted it exactly like the other lamp base.  Makes me wonder why I even needed to buy the other lamp base to begin with… oh well, NEW project!  🙂

My Cost Breakdown

  • Shades – $2-3 at a thrift store if you can find the right shape, size, etc.  If you’re impatient like me, $13 at Target
  • Burlap – I had mine left over from some table runners but it’s usually only about $2.99/yard at Joanne’s (don’t forget your coupon!)
  • Lamp Base – $10 for 2 at a garage sale
  • Oil Rubbed Bronze Spray Paint – $2.99 with 40% coupon at Michael’s

Total: $21 for a gorgeous, custom made lamp.  Not too shabby, if you ask me.  🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

